ASEE North Midwest Section Business Meeting Minutes Iowa Memorial Union, 2nd Floor Ballroom University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA (Friday), October 17, 2014, 12:30 pm

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 12:35 pm by Susan Schneider, NMW Section Secretary-Treasurer.
- 2. Julie Jessop (Conference Chair) welcomed everybody to the conference. She thanked everybody who contributed to the operation of this conference for its success including the Dean of the College of Engineering, the administrative staff who supported the conference activities, conference paper reviewers, session chairs, authors, presenters, tour guides, and guests. Particular thanks go to Kari Kozak for coordinating the on-line repository of the conference proceedings, Keri Hornbuckle and Jill McNamara for assisting with the conference planning, and Asghar Bhatti for chairing the paper review committee.
- 3. The minutes of the 2013 North Midwest Section Business Meeting were brought up for discussion by Susan Schneider; these minutes have been available for member review on the NMW web site since early November 2013. Charles Johnson moved to approve the minutes; Chris Carroll seconded. There was no discussion, and the minutes were approved as distributed on the NMW web site.

4.	Susan Schneider Introduced the North Midwest Section Officers		
	Secretary-Treasurer	Susan Schneider	Marquette University, Milwaukee
	Section Campus Rep	Byron Garry	South Dakota State University
	Section Archivist	Charles McIntyre	North Dakota State University
	Program Chair	Julie Jessop	University of Iowa
	Past Program Co-Chairs	David Rogers	North Dakota State University
		G. Padmanabhan	North Dakota State University
	Past Section Chair	Michael Rother	University of Minnesota Duluth
	ASEE Zone III Chair	Charles McIntyre	North Dakota State University

4. Susan Schneider introduced the North Midwest Section Officers

- 5. Financial report prepared by Susan Schneider, Secretary-Treasurer. The section is solvent with slightly more than \$5000 in the section's BASS account.
- 6. Charles McIntyre discussed the upcoming Zone III Conference which will occur in Springfield Missouri, the third week in September 2015; there will be separate section business meetings at that conference. As Zone III chair, he shared that at the national level, the organization is working to address issues associated with finances to ensure a healthy society. Charles then urged those in attendance to "Give Back" to the section following through on actions urged by our keynote speaker, Robert Chiusano, through their time by participating in an organizational role as a member of a section

committee, as a campus representative, as an elected officer. (Agenda items 6, 7, and 8 combined)

- 7. Julie Jessop announced the recipient of the Edward F. Mikol Best Paper Award from the 2013 North Midwest Conference at North Dakota State University Roger Green, North Dakota State University "Rethinking Engineering Education through a Leadership Perspective"
- 8. Bylaw Changes Susan Schneider summarized the changes to the bylaws proposed in early 2014; the proposed changes have been available for review from the NMW web site since March 2014. The changes affect Article III. The present, future and past program chairs are eliminated from the list of elected officers as these individuals are appointed by the host institutions; these chairs remain members of the Section Executive Committee. In addition, the duties of the archivist are changed to reflect the website responsibilities. Charles McIntyre moved to approve the proposed changes; Julie Jessop seconded. The bylaw changes passed by a count of 45 in favor out of 56 attendees passing by the more than the two-thirds majority of NMW section members required for bylaw changes.
- 9. North Midwest Section Elections: Susan Schneider presented the slate of candidates for the positions of chair, section campus representative and section archivist. The term of office for the chair will go from immediately upon election to June 30, 2016. The Section Campus Representative and Section Archivist terms are each 2 years starting July 1, 2015.
 - a. For Section Campus Representative Byron Garry, South Dakota State (incumbent)
 - b. For Section Archivist Charles McIntyre, IUPUI (incumbent)
 - c. For Section Chair Charles Johnson, University of Minnesota Mankato Each of the candidates was elected unanimously for the position for which they were

nominated.

- 10. Resolution Committee Report Charles Johnson and Charles McIntyre acknowledged the efforts and contributions of various people and organizations that lead to a very successful 2014 conference.
- 11. The meeting was adjourned at 1:05 pm.